The area south of the Faroe Islands

The area south of the Faroe Islands constitutes a large part of the Faroe-Rockall Plateau and is limited to the north, east and south-east by the 200 nautical mile limits of Iceland, Ireland and the United Kingdom.

The Danish Government stated already in 1985 by notice in “Statstidende” the preliminary extent of the continental shelf off Faroe Islands. This designation comprises an area inside the 200 nautical mile limit – approximately equivalent to the now agreed shelf and fishery limits – as well as an area on the Faroe plateau south of the Faroe Islands. The Danish designation was made shortly after similar designations had been published by United Kingdom and Ireland for the same area. Subsequently on 9 May 1985 also Iceland announced a shelf designation overlapping the other countries designated areas.

On Thursday December 2, 2010, the Government of the Kingdom of Denmark and the Government of the Faroes submitted documentation for extended continental shelf outside the 200 nautical mile limit south of the Faroe Islands to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS). The claimed area extends 820 nautical miles south of the Faroe Islands and covers an area of c. 608.000 km2 on the Faroe-Rockall plateau.

The United Kingdom, Ireland and Iceland have potential claims in the same area as the Kingdom of Denmark. The United Kingdom and Ireland handed in submissions to the CLCS in respect of the area on 31 March 2009.

Download the executive summary of the submission:
 (pdf-file ~12Mb).

© Kontinentalsokkelprojektet - Frontier Theme