The area north of the Faroe Islands

The area north of the Faroe Islands is delimited by the 200 nautical mile limits from the Faroe Islands, Iceland, Jan Mayen and the mainland of Norway. Problems regarding overlapping claims have been solved through an agreement
made with Iceland and Norway in 2006. The agreement sets out a procedure for handling the overlapping claims and determining future delimitation lines in the area taken into consideration the recommendations of the CLCS in regard to the submissions made by each of the states. Norway submitted their claim for extended continental shelf to the CLCS in 2006 and received their final recommendations on 27 March 2009, while Denmark and the Faroes sent in a submission on 29 April 2009 – the same day as Iceland.

The Danish/Faroes submission documents an extended continental shelf beyond the 200 nautical mile limit north of the Faroe Islands of c. 90.000 km2. The submission is a result of several years of work involving gathering of bathymetric and seismic data
and interpretation of these. An ad hoc task force was established in 2008 under chairmanship of the Faroese Earth and Energy Directorate (Jardfeingi) together with the Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland (GEUS) with the purpose of preparing the submission documents. The task force had representatives of national authorities and institutions from both Denmark and the Faroes.

On 14 March 2014, the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS), established under the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, recognized the claimed entitlement of the Kingdom of Denmark
to an outer continental shelf beyond 200 nautical miles north of the Faroe Islands.

Executive Summary of the submission in respect of the area north of the Faroe Islands: dnk2009executivesummary_s.pdf
(pdf-file ~4Mb).

© Kontinentalsokkelprojektet - Frontier Theme