Til forsiden Printer friendly version of the page:
"The Continental Shelf Project"
Print date: Wednesday, August 5 2020 - 21:25
Page last modified: December 11, 2014
© Kontinentalsokkelprojektet lng_uk/main.html

The Continental Shelf Project

Map showing the five submission areas within the Kingdom of Denmark. Black lines show the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) around the Faroe Islands and Greenland. 200 M lines in the Arctic Ocean are shown with a red line and the location of the North Pole is indicated with a white star.
Enlarge map

On April 29, 2003 the Danish Parliament decided to ratify the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). This decision was later also endorsed by the Parliaments of the Faroe Islands and Greenland.

The Kingdom of Denmark ratified UNCLOS on November 16, 2004. It entered into force for the Kingdom of Denmark on December 16, 2004 and from this date the Kingdom has 10 years to put forward claims of extending the outer limits of the continental shelf beyond 200 nautical miles.

Five potential claim areas have been identified off the Faroe Islands and Greenland, potentially including the North Pole.

In order to provide the necessary database the Continental Shelf Project of the Kingdom of Denmark has been launched by the Ministry for Higher Education and Science in co-operation with the Faroese and Greenland governments. The project is a co-operation between various institutions in Denmark, Faroe Islands and Greenland.

At the end of 2014 five Partial Submissions have been forwarded to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS):

This website provides you with information on the Continental Shelf Project of the Kingdom of Denmark, and some general information on UNCLOS.